Skip to Content

UHSBoard of Directors

UHS is a not-for-profit, community-benefit organization governed by a board of directors whose members are selected from the communities we serve. The boards of each of our member organizations also represent their respective communities. All our board members serve without pay and are responsible for ensuring the quality of patient care, creating hospital and organization policy, approving the annual operating plan, and ensuring adequate resources are available to meet the organization’s mission.

Below is a current directory of the boards of our various member organizations.

United Health Services, Inc.

Jerome Canny, Chair
Bruce Bowling, MD, Vice Chair
Judith Peckham, Treasurer
Susan Mistretta, Esq., Secretary
John Carrigg, President/CEO
Keith Chadwick
Eric Larsen
Rev. Larry Light
Matthew Salanger
Catherine Scarlett
Mark Shumeyko, MD
James Tallon
Natalie Thompson

United Health Services Hospitals 
UHS Binghamton General Hospital 
UHS Wilson Medical Center

Jerome Canny, Chair
Bruce Bowling, MD, 1st Vice Chair
John M. Carrigg, President/CEO, 2nd Vice Chair
Susan Mistretta, Esq., Secretary
Linda Best
Frank Floyd, MD
Roy Gill, MD
Julia Miller, MD
JoAnn Navarro
Peter Newman
Judith Peckham
Matthew Salanger
Gary VanNostrand
Sharon Yaple

UHS Senior Living at Ideal
Ideal Senior Living Center

ISLC Housing Corporation 

Sharon Yaple, Chair
Kay Boland, Vice Chair
Harold Beam, Treasurer
Nancy Rongo, Secretary
Lillian Levy

UHS Medical Group 
United Medical Associates

Leonard Anderson, MD, Chair
Ann Teng, DO, Vice Chair
Khalid Sethi, MD, Treasurer
Brenda Schlaen, MD, Secretary
Matthew Bennett, MD
Thomas Genese, MD
Jeffrey Gray, MD
Andrea Hoag, DO
Micah Lissy, MD
Ryan Little, NP

UHS Chenango Memorial Hospital

Catherine Scarlett, Chair
Joseph Stagliano, 1st Vice Chair
John Carrigg, 2nd Vice Chair
Bruce Erath, Treasurer
Steven Palmatier, Secretary
Drake Lamen, MD, President/CEO/CMO
Eric Larsen
Robert Nassar
E. Kay Boland
Ric Festarini
Kristina Hummer, DO (by office)
Phyllis Sheriff-White, DO (by office)
Katharine Mirabito Voss (by office)
Heather Ferrarese
Martin Masarech, MD
Julie Oehlbeck

UHS Delaware Valley Hospital

Helen Johnston, RN, Chair 
John Carrigg, 2nd Vice Chair
Rev. Larry Light, Treasurer
Edward Snow, Secretary
Paul Summers, President/CEO
Michael Freeman, DO
Amanda Hall
Erin Neale

UHS Home Care
Professional Home Care
Twin Tier Home Health

Linda Best, Chair
Frances Srnka-Debnar, MS, RN, 1st Vice Chair
John Carrigg, 2nd Vice Chair
Natalie Thompson, Secretary/Treasurer
Thomas Genese, MD
Doug Kerr, MD
Nancy Rongo
Susan Seibold Simpson

UHS Foundation

Sam Lupo, Chair
Jon Sarra, Immediate Past Chair
Ed Morton, Treasurer
Mary Surdey, Secretary
Ken Fernald, Member-at-Large
Ronald Goodwin
Stephanie Jester
John Karedes
Naima Kradjian
Joe Mirabito
Mark Patterson
Kim Potter
Derek Russell
Lauren Saleeby
Tom Sbarra
Linda Shumaker
Dan Spence
Laurie VanKuren
Bryan Warren
Sharon Yaple


John Carrigg, President & CEO, UHS, Inc.
Hisham Kashou, MD, President, UHS Hospitals Medical Staff
Cory Jacobs, Executive Director, UHS Foundation
Susan Lee, President, BGH Auxiliary
Karen Steigerwald, President, WMC Auxiliary